Skip to content

National Safety Council to recognize women leaders in safety


The National Safety Council is accepting nominations for its inaugural Marion Martin Recognition Award, presented to women who have advanced safety and broken down traditional gender barriers within the safety field.

“Marion Martin was a trailblazer and visionary, and her long career was distinguished by efforts to save lives and prevent injuries,” said Deborah A.P. Hersman, president and CEO of the National Safety Council. “We are excited to recognize the next generation of Marion Martins through the establishment of this inaugural award.”

Nominees must have achieved professional excellence in the safety field. They also must have accomplished at least one of the following:

• Influenced other women to pursue careers in the safety field.

• Opened doors for women in a safety employment setting that are historically and professionally limited to them.

• Advanced opportunities for women within the safety field.

Martin was a safety pioneer who started her political career in 1930, serving two terms in both the Maine House of Representatives and the State Senate. She was the only woman and only non-lawyer on the Legal Affairs Committee. Martin later became the first female head of a Maine state government agency. During her tenure, Maine passed legislation on equal pay for equal work, strong industrial safety, child labour and collective bargaining. Martin also was the first woman to win the prestigious National Safety Council Distinguished Service to Safety Award in 1971.

Nomination instructions are available at here. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 5. Winners will be recognized during the National Safety Council Women’s Caucus Luncheon on March 22 in Austin, Texas.

Canadians are eligible for this award.

Videos You May Like

Highlights from Canada's Safest Employers gala 2016

Highlights from Canada's Safest Employers gala 2016

41 companies took home the hardware on Oct. 24 in Toronto

Add Comment