Skip to content

NSC presents safety excellence awards at conference opening

By Mari-Len De Guzman
Jeff Woodbury (left) of Exxon Mobil Corp. presents Campbell Award to Scott Buckhout

PHILADELPHIA — The National Safety Council (NSC) has announced the winners of several prestigious awards in safety excellence at the opening session of this year’s NSC Congress and Expo.

UTC Fire & Security was the recipient of the 2011 Robert W. Campbell Award, a program that recognizes organizations that successfully integrate environmental, health and safety management with business operations as a cornerstone of its corporate success.

“Through the Campbell Award review process, UTC Fire & Security demonstrated a thoughtful and thorough approach to EHS management,” said NSC president and CEO Janet Froetscher in a statement.

“Despite challenges presented by numerous acquisitions and mergers, UTC Fire & Security has grown and sustained an outstanding safety culture with a deep, heartfelt commitment to the Campbell ideas.”

UTC Fire & Security provides fire safety and electronic security systems that protect people, property and assets. Headquartered in Connecticut, UTC Fire & Security is part of the UTC Climate, Controls and Security Systems, a business unit of United Technologies Corp.

UTC Fire & Security president Scott Buckhout accepted the award on behalf of the company. “Protecting the health and safety employees and customers is a core value at UTC, and our goal is to ensure our workplaces are safe, our employees are injury-free and our products perform flawlessly and safely,” he said.

Another previous Robert W. Campbell Award recipient came back this year to accept another safety excellence award — this time it’s the 2012 Green Cross for Safety Medal. The 2010 Campbell Award recipient, The Dow Chemical Company, came back to the NSC Congress and Expo this year to accept the Green Cross for Safety Medal.

“Dow’s long held commitment to health and safety is proudly recognized through our core foundational values of integrity, respect for people and protecting the planet,” said Andrew Liveris, the company’s chairman and CEO.

Five safety professionals were also awarded at the opening session with the Distinguished Service to Safety Award. They were: Joseph Branco, corporate safety manager at Quanta Services, Inc.; Gary Catapano, senior vice-president of safety at FirstGroup, North American Operations; J. Terrence Grisim, president of Safety Management Consultants; Lonnie Logan, safety chair at IBEW Local 1379; and, David Matthes, corporate safety director at J.F. White Contracting Company, Inc.

Add Comment